Winner Announced


The New York Television Festival and Fox Broadcasting Company are proud to announce the the winner of the 5th Annual Fox Comedy Script Contest.

  • "Here to Stay" by Andrew Shafer

Finalists Announced


The New York Television Festival and Fox Broadcasting Company are proud to announce the 25 finalists in the 5th Annual Fox Comedy Script Contest. Congrats to these amazing writers. The winner will be announced at the NYTVF Awards Show on October 27, 2012.

  • "Aggravated At Large" by Sean Presant
  • "Ballers" by Jeffrey Stoltzfus
  • "Boomerang Kids" by Tim Cairo and Jake Gibson
  • "Bored of Ed" by Joshua Siegel and Jeremy Kaufman
  • "Brew City" by Tom Clark
  • "Bridges In Beta" by Erik Parker
  • "Couple of Dudes" by Andrew Ford
  • "Death and Mangos" by Josh Sorokach
  • "The Entrepreneur Squad!" by Greg Smith
  • "The Experts" by Bradley Barth and Tasha Gordon-Solmon
  • "Good People Doing Constructive Things" by Heather Huntington and Michael Milch
  • "Growing Up Morales" by Santa Sierra
  • "Here to Stay" by Andrew Shafer
  • "Inheritance" by David Hewlett
  • "The Late Bloomer" by Scott Fluhler
  • "Life After Beth" by Scott Brody
  • "Little League" by Isaac Gonzalez
  • "Me and Four A##holes" by Alec Pinkston
  • "Mr. Mayor" by John Loos
  • "No Class" by Joshua Corey and Brian Kratz
  • "Poker Night" by Matt Harry
  • "Sausage" by Lee Rubenstein
  • "Staff Ass" by Brian Glidewell
  • "Teachers' Lounge" by Steve Theiss
  • "Those Who Teach" by Alex Forstenhausler and Aaron Eisenberg

Thanks to all who entered.



Submission Info - (DEADLINE HAS PASSED)


The New York Television Festival and Fox Broadcasting Company have teamed up to offer aspiring TV writers the opportunity to win $25,000 and a development deal with FOX!


Additionally, the 25 finalists will receive NYTVF designation as 2012 Official Artists and be invited to the New York Television Festival, held in NYC in October, 2012.


Enter the 5th Annual FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest and submit your script for an original half-hour comedy series. 25 Finalists will have their scripts evaluated by FOX for a possible development deal with the network and one single individual winner (or a winning team of two co-writers) will receive $25,000 and a development deal. Scripts must be entered by uploading them in a PDF format on the NYTVF upload page, which can be found here beginning April 16, 2012.

The submission period will open at noon Eastern Time (ET) on April 16, 2012 and will close at noon ET on April 30, 2012. All submissions must be uploaded during this time period, without exception. The contest will stop accepting entries when this period elapses or when the Festival receives 1,500 script entries, whichever comes first.


Use the links below to explore the various aspects of submitting to the Fox Comedy Script Contest.

Important Dates

  • April 16, 2012……Script Submission Period Begins (at 12:00 noon ET)
  • April 30, 2012……Script Submission Period Ends (at 12:00 noon ET)
  • On or about October 27, 2012……2012 FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest Winner is announced at the Festival Awards Show

back to top

Required Length and Format

  • All scripts must be uploaded to the NYTVF Web site. The scripts must be a PDF document formatted recognizably as a television script, and they must be 25 to 35 (letter-sized) pages in length.

    Proper formatting of scripts is advised, including proper indenting of character names and dialogue. All elements may be single or double-spaced – there is no preference provided that the script falls within the length guidelines. There are many acceptable ways to format script entries, and many online resources offer templates and helpful tips on how to format a script correctly. For a rough sample script template, click here.

    There is no fee to enter the script contest.

back to top


  • Limit one entry per person. Each entry must include only one (1) script.
  • A maximum (team) of two (2) co-writers are permitted; co-writers may only be associated with a maximum of one entry.
  • Entrants must be aged 18 years or older.
  • Entries must be written in English.
  • Contest is open to legal residents of the fifty states and D.C.
  • Scripts must be PDF documents received between 12:00 noon ET on April 16, 2012 and 12:00 noon ET on April 30, 2012.
  • Scripts must be wholly original (e.g. NOT adapted from books, plays or any other source material and NOT a “spec” of existing television programs or treatments).
  • Scripts must be copyrighted or registered. (Help on this)
  • Scripts must be submitted under the entrant’s legal name as indicated on such copyright or WGA registration, and as evidenced by entrant’s valid government-issued identification.
  • Scripts may not have been previously entered into any other contest or competition. A script that has been produced as a pilot and entered into the NYTVF Independent Pilot Competition is not eligible for the Comedy Script Contest.
  • Scripts must not be encumbered by any obligation to, or option held by, a third party.

For a full list of Eligibility Requirements see the Official Rules

back to top

The New York Television Festival was founded in 2005 as the industry’s first creative festival for television artists. A pioneer of the “independent television” movement, the Festival strives to construct new and innovative paths of development and talent identification, while simultaneously complementing the traditional television development model.